03 July 2020

The new UEFA EURO 2021 schedule has been confirmed. The tournament will now run from 11 June to 11 July, 2021. UEFA EURO 2020 was postponed in March due to the outbreak of the COVID-19 virus. 24 teams will participate in the group stage of the tournament. This will be the first European Championship which will take place not in the territory of one or two neighboring countries but on 12 stadiums in 12 cities of 11 countries (12 UEFA National Federations). To commemorate the 60th anniversary of the first European Championship the matches were planned, for the first time in history, in several large cities of Europe. Various games will take place in Saint Petersburg - the second largest city of Russia, the city also known as the "Venice of the North". The games will be on the following dates: 12 June, Belgium - Russia; 16 June, Finland - Russia; 21 June, Finland - Belgium and a quarterfinal game on 02 July.